The Local Governing Body comprises 12 people, including the Headteacher, who have voluntarily taken on the role of Governor. Each Governor carries out his or her responsibilities through a variety of contacts with the School, including individual visits and attendance at formal meetings.

We are fortunate that, at The Grove School, we have been able to keep our Governing body at full strength and that we have been able to attract people with a variety of talent and experience who are willing to give their time and commitment in support of the school.

The core functions of the Governing Body can be described as:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos, and strategic direction
  • Holding the Executive Headteacher / Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its students
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and make sure its money is well spent

The Local Governing Body is made up of a variety of community, parent and staff governors, numbers of which are detailed below; further information, if required, is accessible via the Clerk to the Governing Body

To contact the governors directly please email

To find out more about the Governance of a The Marches Academy Trust, please visit

Chair of Governors  |  Mr Peter Ingham
Vice Chair of Governors  |  Mrs Sheila Halsall
Headteacher  |  Mrs Sonia Taylor
Chair of Curriculum Committee  |  Mr Adrian Pembleton
Chair of Finance Committee  |  Mrs Sheila Halsall
Chair of Marketing Committee  |  Mrs Dorothy Hanney
Chair of Personnel Committee  |   Mr Richard Kolbe
Chair of Premises and Health & Safety  |  Mr David Cadwell
Clerk to the governing body  |  Mrs Gail Beath

Minutes to meetings of the governing body of the School are available on request.  Please contact